Step 01: Buying equipment and Ingredients

It turns out that getting brewing equipment in Puerto Rico is nearly as hard as finding a decent beer.  The nearest home brew store is two hours away in San Juan.  Thanks to the distance from the mainland, the majority of home brew stores there won’t ship here, and if they do, the associated shipping cost is prohibitive.  In the end, I managed to piece together enough equipment from Amazon.com and suffer the sting of the shipping on a basic kit. The ingredients I ordered in the form of a Nevada pale ale kit from the brew store in San Juan–an extract kit with specialty grains, liquid yeast, and priming sugar. My intentions are to get a few basic extract batches under my belt to master the process of brewing and sanitation, then jump into all grain brewing.  After some basic calculations, I can save approximately five dollars on each six-pack while I’m using the extract, and when I switch to all-grain, I can save an addition two to three dollars. The coming week or two will include receiving my equipment and ingredients, constructing a wort-chiller, a trip to visit the Caribbean Brewing in San Juan, and preparing my first batch of beer!

Leave a Reply

